Heading Logo

Hudson boys swimmers, divers honored at banquet

Staff Report Published: April 2, 2017 12:01 AM
  • 1 of 1 Photos | View More Photos

The Hudson boys swimming and diving team recently had its awards banquet.

Jay Johnson was named the team's Most Valuable Swimmer and Alex Freund was named the team's Diver of the Year.

Sean Weigel received the Ray Hyser Award.

Other awards are as follows:

Coaches: Mike Piel

[Article continues below]

Most improved: David Ramirez and Matt Matolka

Rookie of the Year: Caleb Tuckerman and Liam Clarke

All-Americans: Jay Johnson, 50-yard freestyle and 100 freestyle (consideration); and the 400 freestyle relay team of Johnson, Jacob Tuckerman, Caleb Tuckerman and Clarke

Academic All-American: Sean Weigel

All-Ohio: Johnson, 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle; Clarke, 100 freestyle; Caleb Tuckerman, 500 freestyle; the 200 freestyle relay team of Clarke, Johnson, Jacob Tuckerman and Sam Martinez; and the 400 freestyle relay team of Johnson, Jacob Tuckerman Caleb Tuckerman and Clarke

[Article continues below]

Academic All-Ohio: Weigel

Hudson Scholar/Suburban League National Conference Academic: Alex Beegle, Clarke, Matthew Constable, Caleb Cosentino, Freund, Evan Hamm, Johnson, Brian Kinnear, Martinez, Matolka, Mason Meyer, Jack Morgan, Dylan Ruscin, Piel, David Ramirez, Austin Reed, Jacob Tuckerman, Alek Vizmeg and Weigel

All-conference (first team): Johnson, Clarke, Jacob Tuckerman and Martinez

All-conference (second team): Freund, Caleb Tuckerman, Cosentino and Ruscin

All-conference (honorable mention): Matolka and Kinnear

Conference Coach of the Year: Matt Davis

Captains: Freund, Weigel and Jacob Tuckerman

Fourth-year letters: Freund and Weigel

Third-year letters: Jacob Tuckerman, Cole Kampman, Martinez and Ruscin

Second-year letters: Alex Beegle, Cosentino, Johnson, Kinnear, Oliver Podoll and Austin Reed

First-year letters: Clarke, Constable, Matolka, Meyer, Piel, Ethan Rocco, Caleb Tuckerman and Vizmeg

Email: faceto@recordpub.com

Phone: 330-541-9444

Facebook: FrankAcetoRecordPublishingCoSports

Twitter: FrankAceto_RPC

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.