Heading Logo

Winter sport Pioneers honored at awards banquet

Published: March 12, 2017 12:01 AM
  • 1 of 1 Photos | View More Photos

Western Reserve Academy recently had its awards banquet for its winter sports season.

Nicholas Harris and Matthew Lovre, who are members of the Pioneers' riflery team, received Gold Medals for their accomplishments. The Gold Medal is Reserve's highest honor for athletics.

Other awards are as follows:


Most Valuable Shooter: Joshua Estrada

[Article continues below]

Most improved: Ethan Ellis and Elizabeth Hoffman

Coaches: Duncan Ostrom

Boys basketball

Most Valuable Player: Michael Pamer

Most improved: Cole Howard

[Article continues below]

Spirit: Samuel McLaughlin

Girls basketball

MVPs: Jade DuVal and Abigail King

Most improved: Madison Coleman

Spirit: Caleigh Tiley

Ice hockey

MVP: Brett Erskine

Most improved: Benjamin Slotnik

Spirit: Daniel Hill

Guglielmi: Hill

Boys swimming

Most Valuable Swimmer: Kevin Escott

Most improved: Brandt Aker

Spirit: Colton Zampelli

Girls swimming

Most Valuable: Katherine Weinzierl

Most improved: Mairead Morrissey

Spirit: Adjoa Tettey-Fio


Most Valuable: Jack Sovich

Most improved: Amy Zhou


Most Valuable: Jayden Demmy

Most improved: James Zhang and Fangzhou Qiu

Coaches: Nels Lund and Andrew McCaffrey

Several WRA athletes earned letters during the season. Letter winners are as follows:

Boys basketball: Wajdi Ahemed, Evan Bongers, Andrew Boniface, Max Burkhart, Brian Gillis, Cade Howard, Cole Howard, Ian Israelson, McLaughlin, Pamer, Cooper Parrott, Cameron Withers and Jhih-Yong Yang

Girls basketball: Coleman, Jade DuVal, Jai DuVal, Tia Forsyth, Julia Gasbarre, Brooke Hovan, Megan Hovan, King, Bee-chui Koo, Zanna Leciejewski, Won Joo Lee, Julia Michel, Nita Reddy, Erin Redlawsk, Tiley and Felicity White

Ice hockey: Chun Kai Cheung, Jad Darwiche, Erskine, Noah Goad, Henry Harkins, Hill, Leo Holland, Nathaniel Hopkins, Danny LaFontaine, Zachary Mandry, Quentin Mundy, Andrew Provenzano, Zachary Rutherford, Seongho Shin, Benjamin Slotnik, Max Slotnik and Thomas Wagner

Riflery: Ellis, Estrada, Grant Foskett, Delaney Fowler, Marc Franquesa, Harris, Makena Hayes, Aeri Hong, Xi Kang, Lovre, Joshua Nagy, Elliot Ong, Ostrom, Xueying Yin and Sarah Zimmerman

Boys swimming: Aker, Jaxson Bick, Maxim Carle, William Downing, Escott, Phillip Kuri, Charles Moffa, Joseph Randazzo, Joshua Rogers, Ethan Shockey, Jaret Skonieczny, Joseph Wiedemann, Andrew Wu and Zampelli

Girls swimming: Julia Ashley, Avery Brewer, Margaret Corl, Elizabeth Downing, Katherine Elkind, Jihyeon Je, Lauren Landry, Amie Ly, Alica Ma, Morrissey, Abigail Richardson, Elizabeth Russ, Kayla Siladi, Sin Hang Tam, Tettey-Fio, Weinzierl, Cassidy Williams, Katherine Winson, Kimberly Winson and Stephanie Wong

Diving: Thomas Awender, Blake Birch, Emily Smithberger, Sovich, Zhou and Olivia Chan

Wrestling: John Barnes, Anthony Cecchini, Sheng Chen, Demmy, Gefei Deng, Ken Fuchino, Ilon Goldberg, Ghassan Hamzeh, Joseph Jordan, Roman LaBrosse, Andrs Loretdemola, Lund, Preston Malen, McCaffrey, Christopher McCollum, Miriam Messiah, Qiu, Ryan Richter, Rafael Rivera, Nicholas Roshetko, Sarah Smith, Harrison Solar, Sammy Toggas, Timothy Zamarro, Chloe Zampelli and Zhang


Email: faceto@recordpub.com

Phone: 330-541-9444

Facebook: FrankAcetoRecordPublishingCoSports

Twitter: FrankAceto_RPC

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.