Heading Logo

Several Hudson basketball players honored at awards banquet

Published: March 30, 2014 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos

Staff report

The Hudson boys basketball team recently had its awards banquet.

John Zuccaro earned the Ray Hyser Award for sportsmanship and Mitch Guadagni was named the team's Most Valuable Player.

Guadagni also was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Kevin Zullo was named the Offensive Player of the Year.

Other awards are as follows:

[Article continues below]

Senior: Derek Schwarz

Coaches: Ian Laver

Unsung Hero: Chris Koscho

Captains: Zullo and Zuccaro

Single-season record: Zullo, 61 3-pointers

[Article continues below]

Career record: Zullo, 112 3-pointers

Highest free throw percentage: Zullo, 76 percent

Guts: Zullo, 14 charges drawn

Third-year letters: Zuccaro, Zullo and Schwarz

Second-year letter: Guadagni

First-year letters: Laver, Koscho, Brendan Burdett, Jack Sullivan, Kyle Ator and Zack Meder

Northeast Ohio Conference: Zullo and Guadagni

NOC (honorable mention): Zuccaro and Schwarz

Northeast Ohio Inland District: Zullo

NEO Inland (special mention): Guadagni

NOC Scholar Athletes: Meder (4.6 grade point average), Burdett (4.5), Sullivan (4.3), Koscho (4.3), Schwarz (4.1), Zuccaro (4.0), Ator (3.97), Zullo (3.6), Laver (3.5) and Guadagni (3.5)

Hudson Scholar Athletes: Schwarz, Zuccaro, Zullo, Koscho, Laver, Sullivan, Ator, Burdett, Guadagni, Matt Hutcheson, Meder, Isaac McGillis, Peter Funk, Jake Gamertsfelder, Kolby Miller, Alex Beck, Troy Brown, Mitch Gray, Spencer Haywood, Evan Jones, Spencer McClure, Jacob Wolanske and Davey Spitz

Participation certificates (junior varsity): Hutcheson, Funk, Gamertsfelder, Jackson Hickert, Mike Piekarski, Ryan Martin, McGillis, Spitz, McClure and Jackson Parker

Email: faceto@recordpub.com

Phone: 330-541-9444

Facebook: FrankAcetoRecordPublishingCoSports

Twitter: FrankAceto_RPC

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.