Heading Logo


Mar 1, 2017 12:00 AM

Problem with using words in an ugly manner

I love words. I love how you can combine a few letters of the alphabet to describe a beautiful day, a child's wonder, a painful remembrance. I have always loved to read and to write. When I was younger, I did creative writing, making up stories, poems and plays.

By Marsha Mckenna Senior Editor
Feb 26, 2017 12:00 AM

Doesn't agree with Our View voter registration suggestion

Responding to the Our View on a piece on proposed legislation for extending voter registration that ran in the Hudson Hub-Times on Feb.

Feb 26, 2017 12:00 AM

Son brings out storytelling skills in father

I am not a storyteller. I can write and report and tell stories in the paper, but when it comes to verbally telling a tale, true or made-up, I have a little trouble. Often after I tell a story, I think later, "I could have told that better.

By Steve Wiandt Reporter
Feb 26, 2017 12:00 AM

Feels there is a doctor patient disconnect

Doctor-patient relationships have been deteriorating for the past decade. There are numerous reasons for this state of affairs. Most physicians are now employed by large hospitals and are on salary from 8 to 5. They are employees of the hospital and no longer entrepreneurs.

[More news below]
Next Exit History - Hudson! for Feb. 22
Feb 22, 2017 12:01 AM

Next Exit History - Hudson! for Feb. 22

We have started populating the Next Exit History (NEH) app with Hudson's exciting historic sites and plaques! Those who have downloaded the NEH app may have suddenly seen more places, but what we have uploaded is very much a work in progress.

By Liz Murphy Destination Hudson
Feb 22, 2017 12:00 AM

Disagrees with Our View on voter registration

I don't agree with the "Our View" opinion from the Feb. 15 issue on supporting Rep Clyde's House Bill 14 proposal to automatically register someone to vote who obtains or renews a driver license.

Feb 22, 2017 12:00 AM

Josh Mandel, Ohio treasurer, should not be broadcasting opinions during work hours

The contentious 2016 election is barely in the rearview, but it appears as though Ohio Treasurer Josh Mandel is already on the campaign trail.

Feb 19, 2017 12:00 AM

Safeguards for young victims of trafficking

Human trafficking is a horrible form of slavery and the sense of violation experienced by those victimized by it can be profound.

Where the work gets done
Feb 19, 2017 12:00 AM

Where the work gets done

Before an idea becomes law, the bill needs to pass both chambers of the legislature: The Ohio House and the Ohio Senate. From there, it goes to the Governor's desk for his signature or veto.

By Kristina Roegner State Rep. 37th District
Capital News: You should be concerned about heroin and fentanyl
Feb 15, 2017 12:02 AM

Capital News: You should be concerned about heroin and fentanyl

COLUMBUS -- Take a penny out of your pocket. Or borrow one from somebody. Heck, look around on the ground, and you'll probably find one. Now go get a salt shaker and carefully remove 32 grains. Yes, grains, as in the tiny specks that you sprinkle all over your french fries.

By Marc Kovac Capital Bureau Chief
[More news below]
Feb 15, 2017 12:01 AM

Letter: Not happy with Portman's 'yes' vote of DeVos

I would like to thank Senator Rob Portman (R) of Ohio for putting money above the interests of the schoolchildren of the United States. Despite the fact that over 90 percent of U.S. children attend public schools, Portman voted yes for a woefully ignorant Betsy DeVos.

Feb 15, 2017 12:00 AM

Our View: Call for 'another Kent State' appalling

Dan Adamini, the Michigan Republican Party official whose social media posts calling for "another Kent State" spurred a firestorm, was right about one thing: "It was stupid, it was poorly done," he said of his posts on Twitter and Facebook.

Feb 15, 2017 12:00 AM

Our View: Making it easier to register to vote

An engaged electorate is the backbone of a strong democracy, and making it easier to vote is the best way to encourage participation at the polls. House Bill 14, a measure introduced by State Rep.

Everett Covered Bridge a photogenic relic of horse-and-buggy days
Feb 12, 2017 12:02 AM

Everett Covered Bridge a photogenic relic of horse-and-buggy days

Photography is popular amongst visitors to national parks, and many parks become known by their photographic icons. In Cuyahoga Valley National Park, Everett Covered Bridge is one of the often-photographed destinations.

By Jennie Vasarhelyi, Cuyahoga Valley National Park
Feb 12, 2017 12:00 AM

Letter: Thinks Trump needs to adjust how he brings about change

Donald Trump is our president and the emperor with no clothes. He states what's on his mind without subterfuge. He is provocative, profane, coarse, insulting, mocking those who disagree with him. He displays little compassion.

Feb 12, 2017 12:00 AM

Letter: City should take holistic approach to YDC property

I was dismayed to read City Manager Howington's recent comments about the future of the YDC property, saying it was good the project is now on the back burner because if it had been developed sooner, the city would have gotten "assisted living or some kind of senior living, which would not have really added to the city's income tax sources.

Feb 12, 2017 12:00 AM

Letter: Says Obama did not help gender wage gap

Here is clear evidence that President Barack Obama has been engaged in unequal treatment of women for his entire tenure in government; however, I don't recall seeing the marches during his first few weeks in office? In either of his two terms?

Feb 8, 2017 12:00 AM

Don't overlook high-tech initiatives in governor's budget proposal

COLUMBUS -- Gov. John Kasich was on the road the day after his biennial budget rollout, talking to an audience in suburban Dayton about some of the provisions included in the two-year spending plan.

By Marc Kovac Capital Bureau
[More news below]
Next Exit History -- Hudson!
Feb 8, 2017 12:00 AM

Next Exit History -- Hudson!

Have you explored the Next Exit History app yet? My columns this year will focus on the 25 key historic sites and plaques that will be uploaded onto Hudson's portion of the app. Some of these places have been featured in previous columns, but I'll try to add some new details.

By Liz Murphy Destination Hudson
Feb 7, 2017 11:54 AM

Our View: Kasich strategy: Cut taxes, cap costs

In his budget for Ohio’s coming biennium, Governor Kasich is continuing his strategy of cutting income taxes to make the state more competitive for business, but sensibly hedging his bets since no one knows for sure what direction President Donald Trump will take the federal government.