Heading Logo

Hockey team wins tournament game

by Laura Freeman | Reporter Published: February 12, 2014 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 1 Photos | View More Photos

Hudson -- A team of young hockey players, including five from Hudson and four from Stow, won a championship game Jan. 20.

The Kent Cyclones Squirt 1 hockey team (ages 8-10), has home ice at Kent State University Ice Arena and plays in the Cleveland Suburban Hockey League in the A2 division. They won three of four games, including the championship game, at the Mount Lebanon Hockey Association MLK Tournament in the Squirt A division at Robert Morris University in Pittsburgh.

The one loss came against Mt. Lebanon in preliminary play, said head coach Bob Rischitelli.

"We came back to beat the same Mt. Lebanon in the championship game 4 to 3 on Jan. 20," Rischitelli said. "The championship game was very close throughout with many of the Hudson players making significant contributions."

Goalie Jack Divine of Hudson stopped 20 of 23 shots and made two big saves in the third period after the team took a 3-2 lead.

[Article continues below]

"Divine played great throughout the weekend and has been strong all season," he said.

Andrew Yard of Hudson tied the game at 2-2 in the second period on an assist from Tommy Rischitelli of Hudson, Rischitelli said. Luke Perrotta of Hudson had an assist on the game winner.

Sully Clark of Hudson anchored the defense and helped to hold off Mt. Lebanon in the last 1 minute 20 seconds of the game when Mt. Lebanon pulled their goaltender, he added.

The Kent Cyclones Squirt 1 team is currently in third place in the A2 division of the Cleveland Suburban Hockey League, Rischitelli said.

The Kent Cyclone Squirts 1 hockey team is coached by Rischitelli of Hudson and assistant coaches Greg Yard of Hudson, Roy Gier of Stow and Corey Morrill.

The teams five Hudson players are Luke Perrotta, Sully Clark, Tommy Rischitelli, Andrew Yard and goalie Jack Divine.

The four players from Stow are Christian Gier, Jackson Kerscher, Ryan Kerscher and Jonah Karnofel.

Other players included Jack Lammlein, Griffin Hines, Logan Amore, Kade Kiger, Deryck Inderbitzen, Jack Morrill and Cal Houston.

Email: lfreeman@recordpub.com

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.