Heading Logo

Ohio PTA Holds Annual Convention

Published: May 9, 2017 9:13 AM

COLUMBUS – Members elected the 2017-2019 Ohio PTA board of directors at the annual convention held in April.

Incoming officers/directors/district advisors are: Ana Chapman, Jackie Arendt, Lisa Weaver, Cindy Schanz, Debbie Tidwell, Linda Read, Venezuela Robinson, Nicole Lesnick, Katie Holcomb, Maria Lang, Angela Revay, Gerri Beres, Barb Varley, Lois Monroe, Rebecka Adams, Dana Paul, Carol Beasley, Lisa Catalano, Rebecca Gawsyszawski, Camille Peterson and Shannon Weber. Susan M. Hans is the incoming president.

Ann Bohman was honored with the Ohio PTA Oak Tree Award. Doug Dirr was honored as the Ohio PTA Outstanding Educator, Jessica Eidson was honored with the Ohio PTA Helping Hands Award and Debbie Dent was honored with the Ohio PTA School Nurse Award. State Superintendent of Public Instruction Paolo DeMariawas the guest speaker during the awards luncheon.

The 111th convention also included opportunities for PTA members and others to learn about a variety of parent-centered, youth-centered, and education-centered topics. A Town Hall meeting on the Opioid Epidemic was included. Reflections winners from throughout the state were recognized, as well. The Reflections program is designed to enhance art education programs and provides opportunities for students to express themselves and to receive positive recognition for their artistic efforts. For more information, go to pta.org.

Founded in 1901, Ohio PTA is the oldest and largest volunteer organization in the State of Ohio focusing on the health, welfare, safety, and education of children and youth. A branch of the National PTA, it has nearly 70,000 members in over 500 units. The organization works to make every child’s potential a reality by engaging and empowering families and communities to advocate for all children. For more information, go to ohiopta.org.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.