Heading Logo

Hudson Public School Endowment Fund awards scholarships

Published: July 5, 2017 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos

The Hudson Public School Endowment Fund would like to announce this year's scholarship recipients. On Monday, May 15th at the Senior Awards Assembly, Scholarship Co-Chairs Brenda DeLeo and Deb Echko awarded $184,325.00 to 86 outstanding members of the graduating Class of 2017. The Endowment Fund was established in 1990 by Donald Barlow to assist Hudson High School seniors pursuing higher education. Additional memorial and other funds have since been created, and The Hudson Public School Endowment Fund now administers as many as 21 different scholarships.

This years recipients are as follows: Junee Grewal was awarded The Kenneth Blower Memorial Scholarship. Noah Twigg and Helen Wallen received The Hajerian Family Scholarship. Helen Wallen was also awarded The Marion C. Albee Education Scholarship. Anna Gagel was the recipient of The Pauline M. Klupinski Memorial Scholarship. Magdalena Haas was awarded this year's Ronald McGrainor Memorial Scholarship. Taylor Hoppes and Kay Bodrock are the recipients of The Margaret McGainor Art Scholarship. Zeynep Ozgur was presented The Burton D. Morgan Foundation Scholarship and The Daniel and Jason Stevenson Extracurricular Achievement Award. Rebecca Witt was awarded The Helen Barlow Fine Arts Scholarship. Leah Notar Donato is this year's recipient of The Hudson Bicentennial Scholarship. Matthew Oscarson received The Les Dingledine Memorial Scholarship. Sean Weigel and William Orazen earned The June Young Pak Memorial Scholarship. Matthew Restifo was awarded The Dante B. Lavelli Football-Academic Scholarship. Grace Graham and Nicholas Polifrone were the recipients of The Scott Case Memorial Fund Scholarship. Alexander Romanic was awarded The Arthur Caniglia Scholarship, and Julia Tosino was presented The Rosemary Gibbes Memorial Scholarship.

The Scholarship Committee also recommended 72 students as recipients of The Donald and Emily Barlow Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to Hudson High School seniors who have demonstrated academic ability, leadership, and high morals. This year there were 4 levels of distinction/awards.

The Donald and Emily Barlow Community recipients are: Brandon Nelson, Junee Grewal, Kathleen Mitcheltree, Kimberly Ito, Anthony Enos, Madison Graham, Christina Core, Caroline Kerka, Kate Mawby, Andrew Tian, Julia Rogala, Alena Madar and Logan Markovic.

The Donald and Emily Barlow Investment recipients are: Maya Knee, Morgan Fields, Nicholas Advent, Faith Tremmel, Angela Kerekes, Madison Brown, Joseph Carlson, Spencer McClure, Macy Lori, Rayna McLean, Brandon Manley, Molly Sandberg, Sara Moloney and Connor Neifert.

[Article continues below]

The Donald and Emily Barlow Heritage recipients are: Isabelle Mawby, Hannah Forrestal, Sofia Luevano, Noah Twigg, Sydney Booth, Logan Ritter, Amy O'Connor, Gloria Tie, Austin Mullen, Annika Margevich, Simon Conover, Katherine Chojnacki, Alison Chilcott, Adeline Wickerham, Seth Draper, Sam Winston, Faith Shanley, William Carson, Maxeen Ramlo, Christopher Cavoli, Anna Engelman, William Orazen, Lauren Hackenberg, Connor Redslob, Eliza Green, Magdalena Haas, Sarah Travis, Berit Elderton, Shelby Cash and Thuressa Cullen.

The Donald and Emily Legacy, which is the highest level of this scholarship, was awarded to the following 15 seniors: Colleen McKeon, Allison Gold, Nolan Laughlin, Helen Wallen, Sarah Keller, Will Brunemann, Kolby Miller, Arianna Bankovich, Olivia Van Bokkelen, Kellen McCabe, Remy Schultz, Kayla Alexander, Leah Notar Donato, Elliot Wasbotten and Andrew Heller.

The Hudson Public School Endowment Board and Scholarship Committee would like to wish these students and all of the Class of 2017 continued success in their endeavors.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.