Heading Logo


2017 Dog Licenses deadline for county is Jan. 31

Representative will be at Acme Fresh Market locations Jan. 28

Published: January 22, 2017 12:00 AM

Time is running out for Summit County dog owners to purchase 2017 licenses for their pets. Ohio law requires all dog licenses to be renewed by Jan. 31. The cost for a single year license is $18, a three-year license is $54 and a permanent license is $180. Citizens who fail to meet the deadline, will be required to pay the statutory late fee of $18.

On Jan. 28 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., representatives from the offices of Executive Ilene Shapiro and Fiscal Officer Kristen M. Scalise will have dog licenses available for sale at the following Acme Fresh Market store locations: Acme No. 1 (1835 W. Market St., Akron), Ellet Acme No. 2 (2420 Wedgewood Drive, Akron), State Road Acme No. 10 (2226 State Road, Cuyahoga Falls), Portage Lakes Acme No. 14 (3235 Manchester Road, Akron) and Stow Acme No. 17 (4445 Kent Road, Stow).

"This is a great opportunity for dog owners to purchase a license prior to the Jan. 31 deadline," Shapiro said. "The proceeds from the sale of dog licenses are used to feed and provide medical care to the animals housed in the Animal Control facility."

If a lost dog is brought into Summit County Animal Control wearing a license tag, staff can find the owner quickly and reunite the family and pet. If a citizen finds a lost dog in their neighborhood or on the street and it is wearing a license tag, they can go to http://fiscaloffice.summitoh.net/index.php/dog-licensing/dog-search and type in the license number of a lost dog and find its home.

Dog owners may purchase licenses at the following county government office buildings:

[Article continues below]

County of Summit Division of Animal Control, 250 Opportunity Parkway, Akron

County of Summit Services Department, 1030 E. Tallmadge Avenue, Akron

Kennel owners must also renew their licenses during the same time period; the cost is $80 per license. Licenses for dogs providing assistance to citizens with disabilities are free of charge and valid throughout the duration of the animal's life.

The Ohio Revised Code requires citizens who own, keep or harbor a dog more than three months of age to purchase a county dog license.

To apply online for a dog license, to find additional locations to purchase a license or for further information visit: http://fiscaloffice.summitoh.net/index.php/dog-licensing. Citizens without access to the internet may call: 330-630-7226.


Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.